krotsummer.blogg.se

Mac mini server array
Mac mini server array







mac mini server array

Still, I have over 2TB of media reasonably secure and all Macs are backed up via TM. That’s 640 real cores, or 1280 if you count HyperThreading. His solution was to stick 160 Mac Minis into a rack. Cons are that the initial investment was high and that having my iTunes library on the Drobo means I can't do a time machine backup on that. Steve needed an alternative to the Xserve, since Apple stopped making it. Pros were that I could grow the storage space as drives got cheaper, recycle old drives, have a safety net if drives fail and also use as a Time Machine backup. Then as the library got bigger, it was getting hard to store the media on an external drive and also back up. The rMBP should last a good few years and is definitely an improvement over the mini.įor storage space, I moved away from internal drives with the mini. File Server: Uses File Sharing to allow users to store and share folders.

mac mini server array

Open System Preferences, then click Sharing to access one or more of the options below. Now I use a first gen rMBP (2012) that was retired when I got my touch bar MBP. The most popular server featuresFile Server, Time Machine Server, and Caching Serverare a part of macOS, so it’s easy to use your Mac mini as a server. The host mac has evolved from a G4 tower bought in the late 90s to a 2009 Mac mini. Initially just music, ripping all my CDs plus some vinyl.

MAC MINI SERVER ARRAY FULL

I have had a media server in several forms since iTunes first came into being. Leverage MacStadiums genuine, dedicated Apple Mac mini servers for unlimited usage, instant activation, full admin access, and 24/7 remote hands support for developing Mac applications.









Mac mini server array